How to play Tomb Raider games in order

June 2, 2024 by No Comments

There’s never a wrong time to sit down and enjoy an action-adventure game like the one in the Tomb Raider series. They perfectly blend storytelling and popcorn gameplay to deliver an enjoyable experience. But picking and choosing at random is not enough. Here’s how to play Tomb Raider games!

All Tomb Raider games in order

After the recent announcement that Hayley Atwell will be taking on the role of Lara Croft in the upcoming Tomb Raider anime on Netflix, people around the world want to revisit the games. I am one of them. I want to replay them all but in chronological order. Here’s a complete list of Tomb Raider games from the early days to today:

  • The original saga
    • Tomb Raider (1996)
    • Tomb Raider II (1997)
    • Tomb Raider III (1998)
    • Tomb Raider: The Last Revelation (1999)
    • Tomb Raider: Chronicles (2000)
    • Tomb Raider: The Angel of Darkness (2003)
  • Legend of Tomb Raider
    • Tomb Raider: Legend (2006)
    • Tomb Raider Anniversary (2007)
    • Tomb Raider: Underworld (2008)
  • Survivor Trilogy
    • Tomb Raider (2013)
    • Rise of the Tomb Raider (2015)
    • Shadow of the Tomb Raider (2018)

What is the best Tomb Raider game of all time?

Well, there’s a tricky question. It is subjective. If you can only choose one Tomb Raider game to play in your free time, I’d recommend Tomb Raider Underworld (2008) or Tomb Raider (2013).

Why Underworld? It’s an odd choice, right? Well, yes and no. If you are new to the franchise, you might miss some story beats, which you can watch on YouTube. But the original trilogy from the mid-to-late ’90s, while fantastic in their own right, proves somewhat dated. Gameplay, especially movement and combat, can detract from the experience.

As for Tomb Raider (2013), it was an unusual reboot. Our main character, a young Lara Croft, is well written and relatable. Movement, combat, and exploration all feel fluid and fun, and the various setpieces on the island feel memorable overall. I mean remember the plane crash scene?

Finally, if you want to play all the Tomb Raider games in a row, start with the original from 1996!

If you’ve ever spent years collecting digital games, you might want to read up on what happens to your game library when you die. But for less doom and gloom, don’t forget to subscribe to the Insider Gaming newsletter!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *